Apple Watch ECG app and irregular rhythm warning finally available in Europe and Hong Kong

Apple just released watchOS 5.2, which will make a lot of Apple Watch owners very happy. In this update, Apple finally unlocks the ECG app and irregular heart rhythm warning across European countries and Hong Kong.


Here’s the list of countries where the ECG app (for Apple Watch Series 4 only) and irregular rhythm notification will be available from now on:

Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guam, Hong Kong, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the UK, US and US Virgin Islands.

To download watchOS 5.2, your iPhone must be updated to iOS 12.2.

Apple also stated in their press release:

“A clinical trial of around 600 participants found the ECG app on Apple Watch demonstrated 98.3 percent sensitivity in classifying AFib and 99.6 percent specificity in classifying sinus rhythm in classifiable recordings when compared to a gold standard 12-lead ECG administered by a cardiologist. 87.8 percent of recordings in the study could be classified by the ECG app.”

You can read Apple’s full press release here.

Let us know how you like the new unlocked features in the comments!